Friday, March 8, 2013

Book Review: Audrey's Guide to Witchcraft (Audrey's Guides, #1) by Jody Gehrman

Audrey's Guide to Witchcraft
Fun, girl-power, YA contemporary, paranormal adventure

Audrey's Guide to Witchcraft (Audrey's Guides, #1) by Jody Gehrman

Reading Level: Young Adult
Release Date: July 9, 2012
Publisher: Magic Genie Books
Pages: 294
Source: Copy from Author
Reviewed By: Kate McMurry

Seventeen-year-old Audrey's mother is missing, and she and her sister are very worried about her. Their anxiety is not at all allayed by the arrival of a mysterious young woman who claims to be their cousin sent by their mother to take care of them until she can return. Audrey learns the hard way that she is a witch with strong powers, but she is much in need of training, which the cousin can provide. If only she can learn fast enough to possibly save her mother's life.

I read the Kindle version of this book, which is well-formatted, well-edited and generally professionally done. This book is a magical coming-of-age story, with an action plot and a romantic subplot. It is well-written, and an enjoyable, fast read. The story takes many twists and turns and builds to an exciting, unexpected climax. I am looking forward to future books in this series.

Fans of Carolyn MacCullough and Marlene Perez will particularly enjoy this book.

Disclosure: I was contacted by the author directly for a review as a top reviewer on Amazon. I don't accept many such requests because my time is limited. However, this story's premise intrigued me enough that I agreed to read it, and I'm glad I did.

I rate this book as follows:

Heroine: 5


Subcharacters: 5


Fantasy World-Building: 4


Writing: 5


Mystery/Action Plot: 4


Romantic Subplot: 4


Overall: 4.5, rounded to 5


No comments:

Post a Comment